Jersey Funds Association elects new chair at annual meeting

The group also elected a new committee to focus maintaining Jersey’s 'perfect ecosystem' for alternative funds.

The Jersey Funds Association named Michael Johnson as its new chair during its annual general meeting.

Johnson was previously vice-chair of the industry group. He takes over for Tim Morgan, who completed his three-year term. Johnson is group head of institutional services at Crestbridge.

Michael Johnson

Johnson said the geopolitical landscape has worsened with the war in Ukraine, and a challenging economic environment with inflation rates, interest rate changes and other economic indicators will keep the markets intense and competitive.

However, Johnson said there is plenty to be optimistic about, as more private equity, venture capital and real assets managers look to Jersey to support their cross-border needs

Joel Hernandez, a partner at law firm Mourant, was named vice-chair.

Jersey Funds Association also named its committee members, including incumbents Richard Anthony, Mike Byrne, Steve Cartwright, Ben Dixon, Ben Honeywood, Dilmun Leach, Robert Milner, Tim Morgan, Simon Page, Martin Paul, Tom Powell, Peter Rioda, Ben Robins, Martin Rowley, Sarah Sandiford and Elliot Refson.

Also joining are newcomers Robin Wilson, Sophie Reguengo, Stephanie Hopkins, Clive Spears and John Riva.

In a speech delivered at the meeting, outgoing chair Morgan said the past three years have been a busy but exciting time to lead the JFA, through dealing with the implications for Jersey of the effects of Brexit, to the challenges of the global pandemic, to ongoing enhancements to Jersey’s international standing for tax and regulation.

“We have achieved a lot – from navigating tax and regulatory changes, to integrating ESG into our thinking and supporting cutting-edge training for our members,” Morgan concluded.